Department Information

Department Directory

SPS Special Education Department Directory

The easiest way to get in touch is through the special education contact form.

Special Education Program Teams

Sensory Services

  • Ann Curry, Student Support Services Supervisor:

Early Childhood (Child Find/Preschool/Birth-Three/EEU)

  • Heather Brown, Director of Early Learning:
  • James Alyson, Preschool Program Specialist
  • Meredith Fourre, Special Education Early Childhood Specialist

Private School Referrals and Service Plans

  • Robin Olney, Student Support Services Supervisor:
  • Katie Hardeman, Private School Program Specialist
  • Stephanie Rincon, Private School Program Specialist
  • Lexi Garberg, Private School Admin Specialist

Transition/BRIDGES (Ages 16-21)

  • Sherry Studley, Student Support Services Supervisor:
  • Glen Boyd, Program Specialist

Special Education Supervisor School Assignments

Director of Schools: Dr. James Mercer
Special Education Supervisor: Teresa Swanson:

Schools supported by this team:

  • Adams Elementary
  • Bagely Elementary
  • BF Day Elementary
  • Cascadia Elementary
  • Catharine Blaine K-8
  • Coe Elementary
  • Green Lake Elementary
  • Greenwood Elementary
  • John Hay Elementary
  • John Stanford Elementary
  • Lawton Elementary
  • Loyal Heights Elementary
  • Magnolia Elementary
  • McDonald Elementary
  • North Beach Elementary
  • Queen Anne Elementary / VOPP K-5
  • Salmon Bay K-8
  • Viewlands Elementary
  • West Woodland Elementary
  • Whittier Elementary

Director of Schools: Heather Eberts
Special Education Supervisor: Teresa Swanson:

  • Bailey Gatzert Elementary
  • Emerson Elementary
  • Leschi Elementary
  • Lowell Elementary
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary
  • Rising Star Elementary
  • South Shore PK-8

Director of Schools: Dr. Mike McCarthy
Special Education Supervisor: Gordon Fowlds:
Schools supported by this team:

  • Alki Elementary
  • Arbor Heights Elementary
  • Cascade Parent Partnership
  • Cedar Park Elementary
  • Decatur Elementary
  • Fairmount Park Elementary
  • Genessee Hill Elementary
  • Lafayette Elementary
  • Maple Elementary
  • McGilvra Elementary
  • Montlake Elementary
  • Olympic View Elementary
  • Sand Point Elementary
  • Thornton Creek Elementary
  • View Ridge Elementary
  • Wedgewood Elementary

Director of Schools: Tim Moynihan
Special Education Supervisor: Gordon Fowlds:
Schools supported by this team:

  • Beacon Hill International Elementary
  • Boren STEM K-8
  • Broadview-Thomson
  • Concord Elementary
  • Dearborn Park Elementary
  • Dunlap Elementary
  • Gatewood Elementary
  • Graham Hill Elementary
  • Hawthorne Elementary
  • Highland Park Elementary
  • Northgate Elementary
  • Rainier View Elementary
  • Roxhill Elementary
  • Sanislo Elementary
  • West Seattle Elementary
  • Wing Luke Elementary

Director of Schools: Jon Halfaker
Special Education Supervisor: Mike Bylsma:
Schools supported by this team:

  • Ballard High School
  • Eckstein Middle School
  • Hamilton Middle School
  • Ingraham High School
  • Interagency
  • Jane Addams Middle School
  • Lincoln High School
  • McClure Middle School
  • Nathan Hale High School
  • Robert Eagle Staff Middle School
  • Roosevelt High School
  • Whitman Middle School

Director of Schools: Anthony Ruby
Special Education Supervisor: Cathy Reesman:
Schools supported by this team:

  • Bryant Elementary
  • Hazel Wolf K-8
  • John Muir Elementary
  • John Rogers Elementary
  • Kimball Elementary
  • Laurelhurst Elementary
  • Licton Springs K-8
  • Madrona Elementary
  • Olympic Hills Elementary
  • ORCA K-8
  • Pathfinder K-8
  • Sacajawea Elementary
  • Stevens Elementary
  • Thurgood Marshall Elementary
  • TOPS K-8

Director of Schools: Chris Carter
Special Education Supervisor: Cathy Reesman:

  • Alan T. Sugiyama at South Lake
  • Center School
  • Chief Sealth High School
  • Denny Middle School
  • Madison Middle School
  • Middle College
  • Nova High School
  • Seattle World School
  • West Seattle High School

Director of Schools: Dr. Laura Davis-Brown
Special Education Supervisor: Jenn Pelland:
Schools supported by this team:

  • Aki Kurose Middle School
  • Cleveland High School
  • Franklin High School
  • Garfield High School
  • Meany Middle School
  • Mercer Middle School
  • Rainier Beach High School
  • Skills Center
  • Washington Middle School


Concie Pedroza, Associate Superintendent:

Rocky Torres, Executive Director of Special Education:

Tarra Mitchell, Director of Special Education:

Devin Gurley, Director of Special Education: