Skip To ContentSkip To Content
    Seattle Schools Receives State Board of Education Recognition
    Posted on 04/22/2020
    Washington State Recognition School Program Logo

    Twenty Seattle schools are being awarded for their work in closing gaps, growth, and achievement by the State Board of Education for the 2018-19 school year. This year's achievement reflects an increase of honorees for Seattle Public Schools, which had 18 schools receive this recognition for the 2017-18 school year.

    The State Board of Education (SBE), the Educational Opportunity Gap Oversight and Accountability Committee, and the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) have re-imagined what it means to be a part of the Washington School Recognition Program (formerly the Washington Achievement Awards). Based on the Washington School Improvement Framework, schools are recognized more equitably for closing gaps, growth, and achievement.

    The criteria for recognition includes: growth and achievement on academic indicators (proficiency, growth, graduation rate, English language progress) as well as school quality and student success measures (dual credit participation, regular attendance, and ninth grade on track rates). Find more information about the methodology and definitions on the SBE methodology webpage.

    The following schools have been recognized for the 2018-19 school year:

    • Bryant Elementary School
    • Cascadia Elementary (second consecutive year recipient)
    • Frantz Coe Elementary School (second consecutive year recipient)
    • Decatur Elementary School
    • Dunlap Elementary School
    • Gatewood Elementary School
    • Greenwood Elementary School
    • John Hay Elementary School (second consecutive year recipient)
    • Laurelhurst Elementary School
    • Lawton Elementary School
    • Wing Luke Elementary School
    • McDonald International School (second consecutive year recipient)
    • Montlake Elementary School
    • North Beach Elementary School
    • Queen Anne Elementary
    • Seattle World School (second consecutive year recipient)
    • Tops K-8 School
    • View Ridge Elementary School (second consecutive year recipient)
    • Viewlands Elementary School (second consecutive year recipient)
    • Whitman Middle School

    Congratulations to these schools and their tremendous work. We are proud of your commitment to equity!

    Read more on the schools that have been recognized.