Skip To ContentSkip To Content
    College Preparation Events 2019-20
    Posted on 09/27/2019
    College campus columns, photo by stu_spivack

    College Preparation Events 2019-20

    The Seattle Public Schools strategic plan outlines the goal of all students prepared for college, career, and life. There are many steps students should take to be prepared for college. The Department of College and Career is here to support students as they navigate this process. Read more about College and Career Readiness at Seattle Public Schools. 

    Mon., Oct. 1: FAFSA and WASFA open. Completing the FAFSA or WASFA is the first step in accessing college financial aid. It is required for most scholarships, grants, and loans. High school seniors should apply early to get all of the financial aid that they are eligible for.

    • The FAFSA is the application that citizens and eligible non-citizens (i.e. permanent resident card/green card, conditional permanent resident, refugee) complete to access financial aid. Apply online fafsa.ed.gov
    • The WASFA is the application undocumented non-citizens complete to access financial aid. Apply online readysetgrad.org/wasfa

    Mon., Oct. 14 - Fri., Oct. 18: Discover U College and Career Exploration Week 

    Sun., Nov. 3, 12 - 4 p.m.: UNCF Black College Fair, Garfield High School, Grades 9 - 12 

    Fri., Nov. 1, 9 a.m. - 12 p.m. and Sat., Nov. 2, 12 - 4 p.m.: National College Fair, Washington State Convention Center Grades 10 - 12 

    Sat., March 7, 1 - 4 p.m.: College Bound Scholarship Conference, University of Washington, Grades 9 - 12 

    College Bound Scholarship seniors must complete the FAFSA or WASFA in order to receive this scholarship. College Bound Scholarship requirements can be found on the Ready Set Grad website.

    College Application and Financial Aid Events for Seniors

    Please note: The events listed as FAFSA/WASFA support will have financial aid experts and trained volunteers on hand to assist students with completing college applications and financial aid forms on site. The other events will offer FAFSA/WASFA presentations only.

    Ballard High School FAFSA/WASFA Presentations Tuesday, October 8, 7 - 8:30 p.m.

    The Center School FAFSA/WASFA Support Thursday, October 3, 6 - 8 p.m.

    Cleveland High School FAFSA/WASFA and College App Support Thursday, November 14, 4:30 - 6:30 p.m.

    Franklin High School FAFSA/WASFA Support Thursday, October 3, 10:30 - 11:30 a.m.

    Garfield High School FAFSA/WASFA Support Tuesday, October 22, 5:30 - 8 p.m.

    Nathan Hale High School FAFSA night FAFSA/WASFA Support Wednesday, October 2, 6 - 7:30 p.m.

    Nathan Hale High School College Application Support Tuesday, November 5, 6 - 7:30 p.m.

    Ingraham High School FAFSA/WASFA Support Date and Time TBD

    Nova College and Financial Aid Presentation Thursday, October 10, 6 - 7:30 p.m.

    Rainier Beach High School FAFSA/WASFA Support Tuesday, October 1, 5:30 - 7:30 p.m.

    Roosevelt High School FAFSA/WASFA Support Tuesday, October 15, 6 - 8 p.m.

    Chief Sealth High School FAFSA/WASFA Support Wednesday, October 16, 6 - 8 p.m.

    West Seattle High School College Application Support Wednesday, October 9, 2:30 - 4:30 p.m.

    West Seattle High School FAFSA/WASFA Support Thursday, October 24, 6 - 8 p.m.