Skip To ContentSkip To Content
    District Statement on Travel Ban
    Posted on 06/27/2018

    District Statement on Travel Ban

    Seattle Public Schools welcomes students from nearly 150 countries of origin; our diversity is our strength. On Tues., June 26, 2018, the Supreme Court upheld the travel ban in its entirety. The ban limits travel from seven counties: Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen.

    As stated in an open letter after the November 2016 elections, and in a response to previous executive orders, the district remains steadfast in our commitment to serve and support every student in our care. Read the School Board resolution adopted Feb. 15, 2017, "Resolution Affirming the Provision of Safe, Welcoming, and Inclusive Schools for All Students Without Regard to Race, Religion, National Origin, or Immigration Status."PDF icon

    Though the school year has ended, our staff will work with community based organizations and other partners to support students through the summer months. We are committed to ensuring the youngest members of our community know they are cared for, safe, celebrated and welcome in Seattle Public Schools. We stand in solidarity with our students and their families.