Skip To ContentSkip To Content

    Seismic Report

    The safety of our students and staff is our top priority. Earthquake Safety/Seismic improvements projects have been completed at Seattle Public Schools’ buildings to meet applicable city codes at the time of construction.

    Seattle Public Schools will continue to implement earthquake safety improvements/seismic retrofits to all of our school buildings on a predictable schedule that prioritizes the need for seismic improvements based on the most recent engineering studies. Our mission is to ensure a safe teaching and learning environment for students and staff. Seattle Public Schools Building Excellence (BEX) and Buildings, Technology and Academics (BTA) capital levies, approved by Seattle voters, provide funding for earthquake safety improvement/seismic retrofits for our school buildings.

    The City of Seattle has produced a list of Unreinforced Concrete Masonry (URM) buildings. This PDF adobe PDF icon lists those buildings owned by Seattle Public Schools and their seismic status.

    Earthquake Safety/Seismic Improvements

    Updated October 2019

    PDF version adobe PDF icon

    School Building: Year of Most Recent Seismic Improvements

    Adams, John Elementary: 2017
    Addams, Jane Middle School: 2016 (additional work included in BEX V)
    African American Academy (Rising Star Elementary): 2001
    Alki Elementary: 2019 (BEX V replacement expected to open 2025)
    Arbor Heights Elementary: 2016
    Bagley, Daniel Elementary: 2015 (modernization/addition to be completed in 2020)
    Ballard High School: 1999
    Beacon Hill International Elementary: 2019
    Blaine, Catharine K-8: 2019
    Boren, Louisa STEM K-8: 2013
    Broadview-Thomson K-8: 2019 (additional work scheduled for 2020)
    Bryant Elementary: 2001
    (Cascade Parent Partnership Program — See North Queen Anne)
    Cascadia Elementary: 2017
    Cedar Park Elementary: 2015
    Chief Sealth High School: 2010
    Cleveland STEM High School: 2005
    Coe Elementary: 2003 (addition expected to be completed 2021)
    Columbia School, 2011
    Concord Elementary, 2000
    Cooper (Pathfinder Elementary): 2000
    Day, B.F. Elementary: 2017
    Dearborn Park International Elementary: 2018
    Decatur, Stephen Elementary: 2017
    Denny International Middle School: 2011
    Dunlap Elementary 2000
    Eagle Staff, Robert Middle School: 2017
    Eckstein Middle School: 2019
    Emerson Elementary: 2001
    Fairmount Park Elementary: 2014
    Franklin High School: 2015
    Garfield High School: 2006
    Gatewood Elementary: 2017
    Gatzert, Bailey Elementary: 2008
    Genesee Hill Elementary: 2016
    Graham Hill Elementary 2003
    Green Lake Elementary: 2001
    Greenwood Elementary: 2002
    Hale, Nathan High School: 2012
    Hamilton International Middle School: 2010
    Hawthorne Elementary: 2011
    Hay, John Elementary: 2013
    Highland Park Elementary: 1999
    Hughes, E.C. (Roxhill Elementary): 2018
    Ingraham High School: 2019
    Kimball Elementary: 2015 (BEX V replacement expected to open 2023)
    King, Jr., Martin Luther Elementary: 2006
    Kurose, Aki Middle School: 1994
    Lafayette Elementary: 2005 (additional work to be done in 2020)
    Latona (John Stanford International Elementary): 2000
    Laurelhurst Elementary: 2019
    Lawton Elementary: 2008
    Leschi Elementary: 2018
    Lincoln High School: 2019 (additional work included in BEX V)
    Lowell Elementary: 2018
    Loyal Heights Elementary: 2018
    Luke, Wing Elementary: 2004 (new replacement expected to open 2021
    Madison, James Middle School: 2004
    Madrona Elementary, 2002
    Magnolia Elementary, 2019
    Mann, Horace (Nova High School), 2015
    Maple Elementary: 2005 (additional scheduled for 2020)
    Marshall, John (Interim site): 2014
    Marshall, Thurgood Elementary: 2008
    McClure Middle School: 2003
    McDonald International Elementary: 2012
    McGilvra Elementary, 2015
    Meany Middle School: 2017
    Mercer, Asa, Middle School: 1989 (BEX V replacement expected to open 2025)
    Minor, T.T. (Seattle World School): 2016
    Monroe (Salmon Bay K-8): 2017
    Montlake Elementary: 2006 (BEX V major renovation expected to open 2023)
    Muir, John Elementary: 2015
    North Beach Elementary: 2008
    North Queen Anne (Cascade Parent Partnership Program): 2014 (additional work included in BEX V)
    Northgate Elementary: 1992 (BEX V replacement expected to open 2023)
    Old Hay (Queen Anne Elementary): 2019
    Olympic Hills Elementary: 2017
    Olympic View Elementary: 2019
    (Orca K-8 — see Whitworth)
    Original Van Asselt (Interim site): 2013 (BEX V addition expected to open 2023)
    (Pathfinder K-8 — See Cooper)
    (Queen Anne Elementary — See Old Hay)
    Queen Anne Gymnasium (Interagency): 1995
    Rainier Beach High School: 2003 (BEX V replacement expected to open 2025)
    Rainier View Elementary: 2001
    (Rising Star Elementary — See African American Academy)
    Rogers, John Elementary: 2007 (BEX V replacement expected to open 2025)
    Roosevelt High School: 2004
    (Roxhill Elementary — See Hughes)
    Roxhill School: 2002
    Sacajawea Elementary: 2015
    (Salmon Bay — See Monroe)
    Sand Point Elementary: 2019
    Sanislo Elementary: 1998
    Schmitz Park (Interim site): 2001 (additional work included in BEX V)
    Seward (TOPS K-8), 1999
    South Lake High School: 2004
    South Shore K-8: 2009
    Stanford Center (District Office): 2001
    Stevens Elementary: 2001
    (TOPS K-8 — See Seward)
    Thornton Creek Elementary: 2016
    View Ridge Elementary: 2019
    Viewlands Elementary: 2011 (BEX V replacement expected to open 2023)
    Washington Middle School: 1979
    Webster School: closed (modernization and addition, opens 2020)
    Wedgwood Elementary: 1999
    West Seattle Elementary: 2007
    West Seattle High School: 2002
    West Woodland Elementary: 1991 (addition and improvements to be completed in 2021)
    Whitman Middle School: 1995
    Whittier Elementary: 1999
    Whitworth (Orca K-8): 2012 (additional scheduled for 2020)
    Wolf, Hazel K-8 at Pinehurst School: 2016