Skip To ContentSkip To Content

    Who should I contact?

    At your child’s school

    The first person to answer questions and resolve issues that you might have is often your child’s teacher or special education case manager.

    The school principal or assistant principal is responsible for setting the tone and addressing issues concerning discipline, instruction, and the climate of the school.

    School contact directory →

    District Central Office

    When a question or a concern arises that cannot be addressed at your student’s school, there are resources and contacts available to get your need met.

    Contact the Department

    The Central Office Special Education Team supports all schools, programs, and families to ensure students receive the highest quality services possible.

    Contact Us

    Additional Department Contacts

    Special Education Records

    spedrecords@seattleschools.org

    206-252-0892

    Fax: 206-252-0895

    Program Specialists

    Each region, as well as the Private School, Early Childhood, and Transition teams have program specialists on staff to support and guide IEP teams. Program specialists are special education teachers on special assignment to provide an added layer of support to your student’s teacher.

    Regional Program Specialist Directory →

    Special Education Regional Supervisors

    Special education supervisors are another resource available when there are student needs that rise above what schools and program specialists are able to address.

    Regional Supervisor Directory →

    Program Supervisor Directory →

    Directors

    The director of school-based special education and the director of special education are also available to address more complex questions and concerns when needed.

    Director information →


    Referral to Special Education

    Birth to 3 years of age

    Within Reach of Washington State toll-free at 800-322-2588

    3 to 21 years of age

    ENROLLED in Seattle Public Schools

    Communicate with the staff at the school your child attends for Pre-Referral and Referral

    NOT ENROLLED in Seattle Public Schools


    Regional Supervisors and Program Specialists

    Northeast Region

    Mike Bylsma, Northeast Regional Supervisor
    mebylsma@seattleschools.org or 206-743-3556

    photo of Michelle BammertMichelle Bammert, Northeast Regional Program Specialist
    mtbammert@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0824

    Schools

    • Bryant
    • Cascade Parent Partnership
    • Eckstein
    • Green Lake
    • Hazel Wolf
    • John Rogers
    • Roosevelt
    • Sand Point
    • TOPS
    • Wedgwood

    photo of Elaine ParnellElaine Parnell, Northeast Regional Program Specialist
    eeparnell@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0875

    Schools

    • Cedar Park
    • Decatur
    • Jane Addams
    • Laurelhurst
    • Nathan Hale
    • Olympic Hills
    • Olympic View
    • Sacajawea
    • Thornton Creek K-5
    • View Ridge

     

    Northwest Region

    photo of Theresa SwansonTeresa Swanson, Northwest Regional Supervisor
    taswanson@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0876

     

    Photo of Catherine CookCatherine Cook, Northwest Regional Program Specialist
    cmcook@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0863

    Schools

    • Ballard High School
    • Ingram
    • Licton Springs
    • Northgate
    • Rober Eagle Staff
    • Salmon Bay K-8
    • Viewlands
    • West Woodland
    • Whitman
    • Whittier

    Caitlin O'Shea, Northwest Regional Program Specialist
    cmoshea@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0132

    Schools

    • Adams
    • Bagley
    • BF Day
    • Broadview Thomson
    • Cascadia
    • Center School
    • Greenwood
    • Hamilton International Middle School
    • John Stanford International
    • McDonald
    • North Beach

    Central Region

    photo of Devin GurleyDevin Gurley, Central Regional Supervisor
    dkgurley@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0874

     

    photo of amanda mcnaughtonAmanda McNaughton, Central Regional Program Specialist
    ammcnaughton@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0846

    Schools

    • Bailey Gatzert
    • Frantz Coe
    • Franklin
    • John Hay
    • John Muir
    • Leschi
    • McGilvra
    • Meany
    • Seattle World School
    • Washington

    Jenn Pelland
    japelland@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0845 

    Schools

    • Catherine Blaine
    • Garfield
    • Lawton
    • Lowell
    • Madrona
    • McClure
    • Montlake
    • NOVA
    • Queen Anne
    • Stevens
    • Thurgood Marshall

     

    Southeast Region

    photo of Beth ThorsonBeth Thorson, Southeast Regional Supervisor
    bmthorson@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0262

     

    photo of Marcella HelgesonMarcella Helgeson, Southeast Regional Program Specialist
    mehelgeson@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0861

    Schools

    • Cleveland
    • Mercer
    • Hawthorne
    • Interagency Academy
    • Aki Kurose
    • Rainier Beach
    • South Lake
    • South Shore K-8
    • Emerson

    Lisa Young, Southeast Regional Program Specialist
    lmyoung@seattleschools.org or 206-743-3544

    Schools

    • Beacon Hill International
    • Dearborn Park
    • Martin Luther King Jr.
    • Graham Hill
    • Kimball
    • Maple
    • Dunlap
    • Orca K-8
    • Rainier View
    • Wing Luke
    • Van Asselt

     

    Southwest Region

    photo of Gordon FowldsGordon Fowlds, Southwest Regional Supervisor
    gsfowlds@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0886

     

    Judy Ferguson, Southwest Regional Program Specialist
    juferguson@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0841

    Schools

    • Alki
    • Arbor Heights
    • Concord
    • Fairmount Park
    • Highland Park
    • Lafayette
    • Madison
    • Middle College
    • Pathfinder
    • West Seattle High School

    Emily Caucci photoEmily Caucci, Southwest Regional Program Specialist
    erdrossman@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0969

    Schools

    • Chief Sealth
    • Denny
    • Gatewood
    • Genesee Hill
    • Roxhill
    • Sanislo
    • Louisa Boren
    • West Seattle Elementary

    Programs

    Early Childhood (Child find/Preschool/Birth-Three/EEU)

    photo of Beth Carter

    Elizabeth Carter, Early Childhood Supervisor
    ercarter@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0665

     

    photo of James AlysonJames Alyson, Preschool Program Specialist
    jwalyson@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0849

     

    Heidi Gainer, Birth-to-three Coordinator
    hgainer@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0835

    photo of Teresa GoldenTeresa Golden, Preschool Admin Data Specialist
    tmgolden@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0809

     

    Private School Referrals/Service Plans

    privateschoolservices@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0800

    photo of Robin OlneyRobin Olney, Supervisor
    reolney@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0870

     

    Katie Hardeman, Private School Program Specialist
    kmhardeman@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0862

    photo of Stephanie RinconStephanie Rincon, Private School Program Specialist
    skrincon@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0860

     

    photo of Lexi GarbergLexi Garberg, Private School Admin Specialist
    legarberg@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0495

     

    Vision and Deaf/Hard of Hearing

    photo of Michael DickneiteMichael Dickneite, Supervisor
    msdickneite@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0332

     

    16 to 21-year-old Transition/BRIDGES

    photo of Sherry StudleySherry Studley, Supervisor
    srstudley@seattleschools.org or 206-252-9934

     

    photo of Glen BoydGlen Boyd, Program Specialist
    gmboyd@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0837


    Directors

    photo of Wyeth JesseeWyeth Jessee, Chief of Student Support Services
    specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0830

     

    photo of Trish CampbellTrish Campbell, Director of Special Education
    specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0058

     

    Nicole Fitch photoNicole Fitch, Director of Special Education School Based Services
    specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0058

     

    Beth Mills photoBeth Mills, Director of Special Education Operations
    specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-252-0058

     

    photo of Kari HansonKari Hanson, Director of Student Support Services
    specialed@seattleschools.org or 206-743-3547