Skip To ContentSkip To Content
    School Calendar 2018-19
    Posted on 08/15/2018
    calendar graphic 2018-19

    2018-19 School Year Calendar

    The 2018-19 School Year Calendar, dates listed below, was approved by the School Board in January 2018.

    The school calendar is negotiated between Seattle Education Association and the district. The Seattle School Board adopted the 2018-19 school calendar at the Jan. 31, 2018, board meeting.

    Students are released 75 minutes early every Wednesday, except for the first day of school. This is to support improved teacher collaboration and student academic performance.

    One-page calendar with 2018-19 key datesPDF icon

    School Year Dates

    Wed., Sept. 5, 2018 First day of school (regular school hours apply, no early release)

    Wed., Sept. 5 – Fri., Sept. 7 Family Connection Conferences for incoming kindergarten families

    Mon., Sept. 10, 2018 First day of kindergarten (three-day delayed start for Family Connection)

    Fri., Oct. 12, 2018 State In-service Day (no school)

    Mon., Nov. 12, 2018 Veterans Day (no school)

    Nov. 19 – 21, 2018 Elementary conference days (no school for elementary and K-8 students; varies by school)

    Nov. 22 – 23, 2018 Thanksgiving break

    Fri., Dec. 21, 2018 1-hour early dismissal (holiday break)

    Dec. 24, 2018 – Jan. 4, 2019 Winter break (no school)

    Mon., Jan. 21, 2019 Martin Luther King Jr. Day (no school)

    Wed., Jan. 30, 2019 Day between semesters (no school) *possible snow make-up day (1 of 3)

    Feb. 18 – 22, 2019 Mid-winter break including Presidents Day (no school)

    April 8 -12, 2019 Spring break (no school)

    Mon., May 27, 2019 Memorial Day (no school)

    Thurs., June 20, 2019 Last day of school (1-hour early dismissal)

    June 21 and 24, 2019 Possible snow Make-up days