Translation and Interpretation

The Department of English Language Learners (ELL) &International Programs provides translation and interpretation to all families in Seattle Public Schools in our top nine languages: Amharic, Arabic, Chinese, Oromo, Spanish, Somali, Tagalog, Tigrigna and Vietnamese.

Other languages are available by request with the Bilingual Family Coordinator.
Please email: languages@seattleschools.org

ASL interpretation is available with the 504 Coordinator.
Please email: 504coordinator@seattleschools.org

Translation and interpretation services are always FREE of charge to the parent/guardian, student, and family.

Contacts

For enrollment and general questions, families may contact staff members listed below under "Families". Please note that the staff listed below work regularly with families in the Enrollment Center and/or on-site at schools, and therefore may be limited to checking messages periodically. Please allow 48 hours for a return call or email reply.

Families

SPANISH | ESPAÑOL

Teresita Bazán
Bilingual Facilitator
206-252-2253 
tjbazan@seattleschools.org

Amy Fiterman
Bilingual Facilitator
206-252-0767         
adfiterman@seattleschools.org

SOMALI | AF-SOMAALI

Farhiya Omer
Bilingual Student Facilitator
206-252-3551             
fhomer@seattleschools.org

Halima Abdule
Bilingual Facilitator
206-252-0880             
haabdule@seattleschools.org

VIETNAMESE | TIẾNG VIỆT


Lanie Luu
Bilingual Student Facilitator
206-252-3552 
lhluu@seattleschools.org

Kim Tran
Bilingual Facilitator
206-252-0778             
hktran@seattleschools.org


CHINESE | 中文

Michael Chan
Bilingual Facilitator – Cantonese, Mandarin
206-252-0013 
mcchan@seattleschools.org


Yuan Bai
Bilingual Facilitator – Mandarin
206-252-2254 
yubai@seattleschools.org

AMHARIC & OROMO |  አማርኛ  -  OROMIFFA

Dereje Negassa
Bilingual Student Facilitator
206-252-3551  
denegassa@seattleschools.org

ROMANIAN | ROMÂNĂ

Daniella Vingelen
Bilingual Facilitator
206-252-2254 
drdrader@seattleschools.org

General Requests & Other Languages

Kristina Clark
Bilingual Family Coordinator - Translation and Interpretation
206-743-3545 
kaclark2@seattleschools.org

Telephonic Interpretation

  • Please follow the instructions for Linguistica or contact the Bilingual Family Coordinator for assistance.
  • Linguistica Language List

Mission

  • Ensure the rights of parents/guardians to access information about the education of their child in a language that they can understand.
  • Provide accurate and timely translations.
  • Provide qualified and trained interpreters in the top nine languages.
  • Maintain a central site for translation and interpretation resources for all schools, families and staff.

© Seattle Public SchoolsWebsite by SchoolMessenger Presence opens a new window. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.