School Calendar

2017-18 School Year Calendar Finalized
Posted on 06/08/2017

2017-18 School Year Calendar Finalized

The Seattle School Board adopted the 2017-18 school calendar at the June 7 board meeting.

Students will be released 75 minutes early every Wednesday, except for the first day of school. This is to support improved teacher collaboration and student academic performance.

Important Calendar Dates:

Wed., Sept. 6, 2017 First day of school (regular school hours apply)

Mon., Sept. 11, 2017 Kindergartners first day of school (three-day delayed start)

Fri., Oct. 13, 2017 State-In-Service Day (no school)

Fri., Nov. 10, 2017 Veterans Day (no school)

Nov. 20-22, 2017 Elementary Conference Days (no school for elementary and K-8 students)

Wed., Nov. 22, 2017 75-minute early dismissal for secondary students (holiday break)

Nov. 23-24, 2017 Thanksgiving Break

Fri. Dec. 15, 2017 1-hour early dismissal (holiday break)

Dec. 18, 2017 – Jan. 1, 2018 Winter break including New Year’s Day (no school)

Mon., Jan. 15, 2018 Martin Luther King Jr. Day (no school)

Wed., Jan. 31, 2018 Day between Semesters (no school) *possible snow make-up day (1 of 3)

Feb. 19 – 23, 2018 Mid-winter break including Presidents’ Day (no school)

April 9 -13, 2018 Spring break (no school)

Mon., May 28, 2018 Memorial Day (no school)

Fri., June 22, 2018 Last day of school(1-hour early dismissal)

June 25 and 26, 2018 Possible Snow Make-Up days

The school calendar is negotiated between Seattle Education Association and the district. By June 16, the district will confirm school bell schedules for all schools.

To learn more about the weekly early release, school bell schedules, and our calendar development process, please visit our School Year Schedule Update announcement.

© Seattle Public SchoolsWebsite by SchoolMessenger Presence opens a new window. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.